Sync Modes

Below you will find the details of the different synchronisation modes supported by the subscription service of GooSync.
Users on the Lite service will see an "unsupported sync mode" message on their device if they attempt to use one of the additional synchronisation modes.
Not all devices support these synchronisation modes, and there may be some devices that allow you to use synchronisation modes that are not supported by GooSync.

Normal
This is the standard two-way synchronisation mode supported by all devices.

Only data that has been added, modified, or deleted, either on the device or on Google, will be synchronised to the opposite platform.

Slow
The Slow synchronisation mode is supported by all devices (although not all devices will allow you to select this mode manually).
This synchronisation mode is always initiated on the first sync with GooSync, in order to allow the information on both the device and Google to be synchronised and matched up.

During a slow synchronisation the device will send all of its data to GooSync regardless of whether it has been modified. GooSync will then compare this data with the Google Calendar data and will match the data up on a field by field basis. GooSync will then add any Google events to the device if they are not found by the device client.

Most devices, once a slow sync has been performed successfully, will automatically change the synchronisation mode to Normal for the next sync. This allows subsequent syncs to proceed faster and more efficiently.

However, in the event of a sync failure, both the device client and GooSync have the ability to force a slow synchronisation in order to ensure all of the data is correctly matched and synchronised.

Update Device
The Update Device synchronisation mode is a one-way only synchronisation from Google to the device.

Using this synchronisation mode will cause the device client to ignore all changes made on the device and will only synchronise changes and additions made to the Google Calendar down to the device.

Please note that if this mode is selected on certain devices when a slow sync must be forced by the server (the very first sync or a sync after a failure), then the device can perform the slow sync equivalent of an Update Device. This means that a Reload Device will be performed, removing all of your device data and forcing the GooSync server to send the Google data to your device.

In order to prevent this your device must be set to Normal or Slow for the first sync with GooSync or if a sync has previously failed.

Update Server
The Update Server synchronisation mode is a one-way only synchronisation from the device to Google.

Using this synchronisation mode will force GooSync to ignore all changes made to the Google Calendar and will only synchronise changes and additions made on the device.

Reload Device
The Reload Device synchronisation mode is only available on a few devices. It is a refresh mode of a one-way only synchronisation from Google to the device.

The devices that support this mode will warn you about its use before the sync will begin.

Using this sync mode will force the device client to erase all of your devices calendar data, and will then force GooSync to send all of the Google information, within the synchronisation window, down to the device.